Failure to Pay New York Traffic Fines

Whether the ticket was for running a stop sign or speeding, it is important to pay the fine for your traffic violation. Address the fine right away. It is far too easy to put the ticket in your glove box and forget the incident ever happened. Failure to pay a New York Traffic fine will turn what could be just a minor annoyance into a major headache.

What Happens If You Don’t Pay Traffic Violation Fines?

No one likes getting a traffic ticket. It is an unplanned expense and can really put a damper on your day. The worst thing you can do, however, is to ignore it. The ticket will not go away on its own and pushing it to the side will only make things worse. The consequences of failure to pay your traffic violation fine include having your license suspended which means you will lose the privilege of legally driving. If caught driving on a suspended license, you may be charged with aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, which is a misdemeanor. This is no minor charge as you could be arrested and even jailed for 12-24 hours. If your license is not suspended shortly after you receive you fail to pay your fine, do not think you are in the clear. There is usually a waiting period between the ticket and the suspension that comes with processing, etc.

In addition to a suspended license, failure to respond to a traffic ticket may result in a default judgment entered by the court. When you are guilty by default, the judgment will be hard to vacate. The maximum fine will likely be imposed and you may have traffic violation points assessed. These points will stay on your DMV record for 18 months. You may also see your insurance rates increase because of this.

You have three other, better options when you receive a traffic ticket. Ignoring it clearly has the biggest downside. You may also plead guilty to the traffic violation. While we do not recommend you do so without consulting a traffic lawyer, it would be better than ignoring the ticket altogether.  To plead guilty, look at the instructions laid out on the ticket you received. Complete the form on the ticket and return it either by mail or in person. While pleading guilty means you will have to pay the fine, get the traffic points assessed to your license, and, depending on the offense, could mean a license suspension and an increase in insurance costs, the amount of the fine and the length of the license suspension may not be as severe as that which results from ignoring a traffic ticket.

You may also choose to plead not guilty to the traffic violation after you receive your ticket. Again, follow the instructions listed on your ticket. Fill in the requisite form. Mail out the form within 48 hours of receipt. You will then need to appear in court.

The best option is to let an experienced traffic attorney handle the case for you.

New York Traffic Defense Attorneys

Don’t let a traffic ticket take over your life. Addressing it head on is the best solution. The ticket will not go away on its own and ignoring it will only make things worse. The trusted traffic defense attorneys at CDH law can help you fight your traffic ticket in court. Contact us today.

What do Points on Your Driving Record Mean?

Points on Your Driving Record

When you get a traffic ticket in New York, you get more than just a fine. You also get points assessed on your driver’s license. The Driver Violation Point System in New York is a way for the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to both identify and take necessary action against drivers that are determined to be high risk. Different traffic violations will mean different amount of points on your license. Amassing points will eventually lead to your license being suspended.

What do Points on Your Driving Record Mean?

In order to have points on your driving record, you must first be convicted of a traffic violation. Your total points are based on the date the traffic violation occurred as opposed to the date of your conviction of the traffic offense. All points for violations that occurred within the last 18 months are totaled up. If you get a total of 6 or more points on your driving record within the 18-month period, you must pay a Driver Responsibility fee. If you get a total of 11 points on your record within the 18-month period, it will result in the suspension of your driver’s license.

Different traffic offenses carry different point amounts that will be added to your driving record if you are convicted of the offense. Common traffic violations and the corresponding point amounts that will be assessed include:

  • Speeding:
  • 1 to 10 mph over speed limit: 3 points
  • 11-20 mph over speed limit: 4 points
  • 21-30 mph over speed limit: 6 points
  • 31 to 40 mph over speed limit: 8 points
  • Over 40 mph: 11 points
  • Reckless driving: 5 points
  • Tailgating: 4 points
  • Failure to yield right-of-way: 3 points
  • Disobeying a traffic control signal such as a stop sign or a yield sign: 3 points

There are some traffic violations that do not include points on your driving records. These violations include:

  • Any bicycle violation
  • Any pedestrian violation
  • Any parking violation

It also important to be aware of the fact that points will not be added to your New York State driving record if you are convicted of a traffic violation in another state or country. The exception to this is if the traffic violation happened in Ontario or Quebec. New York has a reciprocal agreement with Quebec and Ontario. This means that traffic violation convictions that happen in these provinces will end up on your New York State driving record. A traffic conviction in Quebec or Ontario will mean the same thing for your driving record as if it had occurred in the State of New York.

If you accrue 11 or more points on your driver record, taking part in a point and insurance reduction program may help avoid losing your license. A point and insurance reduction program must be approved by the DMV. Upon completion of the program, 4 points will be subtracted for the purpose of calculating a suspension if you have accrued 22 or more points. The points do not actually come off of your record, but they will not be included in the 18-month time period points calculation. Additionally, completion of the program may save you 10 percent on your automobile liability and collision insurance premiums. This is nice since getting points on your license often means an increase in your insurance premiums. Every insurance company has a point system of their own.

To check the status of the points on your driving record, you can access you MyDMV through the New York State DMV website.

Experienced Traffic Offense Attorneys

Remember, points will only be assessed if you are convicted of a traffic violation. The attorneys at CDH Law fight off a conviction so that you will not have to worry about points on your license that could eventually lead to you losing your license. Do not make the mistake in thinking a traffic violation is a minor thing. Traffic violations can have big consequences, especially when they are not properly handled. Contact us today.